Middle School

The Middle School years are the developmental years of students where they learn to be more independent, are prepared to face more academic challenges at school, begin to see the point of view of others more clearly, and form a self-image. The school strives to develop critical thinking, teach organizational skills, and instil social and moral values.

Academic Curriculum

The Core Curriculum at Middle School is directly based on the requirements of the Cambridge Assessment International Education. It is a well-rounded curriculum which develops the students’ skills in core subjects such as English, Math and Science, thereby equipping them with a strong and solid foundation for secondary education.

The rationale of Middle School is to engage students in learning while building character and confidence to prepare students for Senior School. The activities and curriculum are designed to foster critical thinking, collaboration, creativity and communication skills (the 4 Cs) which are imperative for overall personality development. The focus of the curriculum goes beyond deep learning to meet the following additional objectives:

  • Higher order thinking and learning application skills
  • Creative problem-solving
  • Leadership, confident thinking and expression
  • Researching, analysing, evaluating and reflecting on guided information as global citizens
  • Collaborative teamwork

Choice of Subjects

Apart from the core subjects of English, Mathematics and Science, the curriculum at Middle School also includes additional foundational subjects such as Second Language (Hindi, Spanish or French), an optional Third Language (Telugu, Hindi, Spanish or French), Social Studies (History and Geography), Information and Communication Technology (ICT), Art, Music, Dance and Physical Education (PE).


Cambridge Progression Tests

At the end of each stage of Middle School (Stages 5 – 9), progression tests for the core subjects are conducted in a structured way to assess learners’ performance and report their progress to parents. Cambridge Assessments use internationally benchmarked tests, giving parents extra trust in the feedback they receive. The tests come with clear guidance, standards and marking schemes and provide structured and detailed feedback about the performance of each learner.


Cambridge Checkpoints

Students who have completed Stages 6 and 9 will have the opportunity to appear for the external Cambridge Primary Checkpoint and Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint Examinations, respectively, where students across the globe are evaluated directly by the University of Cambridge, as per international benchmarks. Special Checkpoint revision classes are held during school hours to help students achieve academic excellence. The checkpoints are available for the core subjects of English, Mathematics and Science. On completion of each checkpoint, the learner receives a statement of achievement and a detailed feedback about his or her performance.

The Cambridge Primary Checkpoint is a test for learners, taken at the end of Stage 6. The Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint is a test for learners, taken at the end of Stage 9. The Lower Secondary Checkpoint is used as a base by the school to advise parents on different progression routes after students attain the age of 14 years and choose the one that will be most suitable for the student.